All I Am Saying, Is Give Sharks A Chance

shark attackWhen I was a little kid I would sometimes go fishing. That was until one fateful day when I caught a fish and it stared back at me with horror in its eyes. I knew from that look that the fish was well aware of its fate. I removed the hook from its mouth, threw it back into the water and swore I would never go fishing again…. and I never have. OK, settled down Loons, I still eat fish, but I just refuse to go fishing. Much the same way as I love movies but refuse to watch Bambi. So, when one of my readers asked if I could write a piece on shark culling I was more than happy to oblige.

Let me start by saying that you would have to be one very unlucky ocean frolicker to die from a shark attack. Hello, on average there is around 5-10 deaths from shark attacks globally per year , seriously more people die from choking on fish bones. And anywho, of the 470 species of sharks only a few are considered gangster to humans. So I reject the argument of shark culling is to protect the public.

Lets look at some stats … It is estimated that 100 million sharks, yes 100 million, are killed by humans every year (sheez, and we complain about a few shark attacks), due to commercial and recreational fishing . When you hear all the blah, blah blah reasons for culling sharks just remember those stats because those stats are never mentioned. Why? Commercial shark fishing is a billion dollar industry!!!!Oh come on people wake up and smell your McFish burger.

Sure these ancient creatures are scarier than Freddy Kruger but hello, sharks are at the top of the food chain in the ocean, they gotta look the part. They lunch mainly on  the older, slower, sicker fish, which  keeps the ecosystem balanced and flourishing . Yep, by removing the weakest , they strengthen the ocean’s gene pools. To cull them makes the ecosystem look like Lindsay Lohan, vulnerable and unstable. Seriously people, the shark has one of the most important jobs in the sea-world, keeping everything in balance. Hmm, they haven’t been around for 420 million years for nothing!!!

Just remember , the propaganda against sharks is being lead by commercial fishing groups not by any logical scientific reasoning. So if you want to be munching on deformed two headed tuna, with a bad chest cold,  be my guest.

PSST– Please check out the  Shark Words blog

9 Comments

Filed under Friggin Wildlife, They Live Among Us !

9 responses to “All I Am Saying, Is Give Sharks A Chance

  1. ilafrance

    Wonderful, Tanya! A million heartfelt thanks. You are so good, its amazing.

    With warmest wishes, Ila

  2. susi spice

    Totally agree 100%!!

    I wish we could throw the shark callers into a raging volcano

  3. Hmm the surfers are in their territory after all. They take the chance every time they go out to surf. As much as I hate to hear that someone has been taken it’s their turf.

  4. Great post Loon. It makes me angry when I hear all this talk of culling. I also loathe those cruel heartless scum that cut their fins off then dump them back in the water to drown. Cut off their arms & throw them into the sea to see how they like it.

  5. griffin

    Cull politicians but give them a running start!

  6. It is a very serious problem. As a top predator, the consequences of killing them off would likely be catastrophic for much of the fish and sea life we depend on.

  7. Wonderfully done. I don’t know why we feel the need to do such stupid things.

Leave a Reply

